Blizzard Reveals the Details of Its New Starcraft II Winter World Championship Series

Marco Verch / Flickr

On Thursday, Blizzard (ATVI) shared the details for its upcoming Starcraft II Winter World Championship Series (WCS Winter), which is set to replace one WCS Circuit stop and function as a prelude to the WCS 2019 season.

According to the announcement, the WCS Winter Series will run as a 10-week program that will consist of a pair of 32-person online tournaments. These will be broken into one for the Americas (including Latin America, Taiwan, ANZ/SEA and China) and one for Europe. Each tournament will feature a $60,000 prize pool.


“Once the top 32 players in each competition have been determined, both regions will enter into their own GSL-style double-elimination groups, with a round-robin top eight,” Blizzard states.¬†From there, the top six players from both the Americas and Europe will enter into two separate winner-moves-on tournaments that will eventually feed into the finals.

This news comes just weeks after Blizzard revealed that it will be shifting developers from¬†Heroes of the Storm, the¬†multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) game, to other teams within the company’s game portfolio.

More: Introducing WCS Winter 2019
Similar: Blizzard Abruptly Halts Its Heroes of the Storm Esports Plans
Photo: Marco Verch / Flickr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts